The Hot Box #067 – New Stuff

After the last edition of Hot Box Xtra, remembering the great Chick Corea (1941 - 2021), Donald Helme returns to some “New Stuff“ with a varied programme from jazz-funk to lush vocals, from the valedictory saxophone of Jimmy Heath to brilliant solo piano.

We are always seeking recordings by Irish artists and Irish inspired recordings, so if you know of any, let us know. The Hot Box is released on www.jazzireland.ie every 2 weeks, please tell your friends about The Hot Box and share it on social media. Questions, comments and requests to

Track Listing for The Hot Box 067 – New Stuff 

  1. Veronica Swift: A Little Taste - From the album Confessions
  1. Christian Sands: Be Water - From the album Be Water
  1. Karl Clews: The Far Islands - From the album Navigator
  1. Bill Frissell: A Flower is a Lovesome Thing - From the album Valentine
  1. Edel Meade: Hold On - From the album Bridgets and Patricias
  1. Jimmy Heath: Con Alma - From the album Love Letter
  1. Veronica Swift: This Bitter Earth - From the album This Bitter Earth
  1. Veronica Swift: Everybody Has a Right to be Wrong - From the album This Bitter Earth
  1. Yoko Miwa: Think of One - From the album Songs of Joy
  1. Nigel Mooney: Bohemian Moondance - From the album The Bohemian Mooney
  1. Tommy Flanagan: How Long Has This Been Going On? - From the album In His Own Sweet Time


Donald Helme
Author: Donald Helme
Donald presented Jazz Alley, Ireland’s number one jazz show, on RTE Lyric FM from the station’s first week on air until the end of 2015. “I am not a musician, and have never pretended to be anything other than a lifetime fan with loads of experience and hopefully, good ears.”
More From The Author