The Hot Box #031 – So What’s New? - Jazz Podcast with Donald Helme - Jazz Ireland

In the 31st episode of The Hot Box, Donald Helme plays all-new material from a range of sources including some of the best new releases from Ireland. Music from Dublin based quartet Åtsch, and the veteran Irish pianist working in Britain, John Donegan with his quintet.

And further afield, you’ll find some stunning new music from Venezuelan composer Edward Simon, from veteran pianist Kenny Barron and an extraordinary historic performance by the great Dizzy Gillespie recorded in 1978 but just issued.

We are still seeking recordings by Irish pianists, so if you know of any, let us know. The Hot Box is released on every 2 weeks and can be heard on-line around the world. Tell your jazz loving friends, and talk to us direct with comments and suggestions to

Track List for The Hot Box #031 – So What’s New?

# Artist Track Title Time
01 Michel Camilo One More Once 00:00
02 Eddie Daniels and Roger Kellaway Wolfie’s Samba 01:37
03 Edward Simon Orchestra Incessant Desires 11:39
04 Dizzy Gillespie Quartet The Land of Milk and Honey 23:50
05 John Donegan Quintet Shaken Not Stirred 34:48
06 Åtsch Stolen Moments 43:48
07 Danny Fox Trio Jewish Cowboy (The Real Josh Geller) 49:47
08 Kenny Barron Quintet Baile 55:16
09 Carole Nelson Trio Moon Rising Over The Blackstair 1:01:22
Donald Helme
Author: Donald Helme
Donald presented Jazz Alley, Ireland’s number one jazz show, on RTE Lyric FM from the station’s first week on air until the end of 2015. “I am not a musician, and have never pretended to be anything other than a lifetime fan with loads of experience and hopefully, good ears.”
More From The Author