• The Whistling Girl
  1. Inscription for the Ceiling of a Bedroom 03:24
  2. Godmother 03:15
  3. The Dark Girl's Rhyme/Epitaph 05:08
  4. Symptom Recital 03:09
  5. Resumé 04:43
  6. August 03:04
  7. The Choice 03:40
  8. Inventory/Dogma 04:14
  9. The Red Dress 06:14
  10. Dilemma 05:02
  11. Social Note/Interior/Frustration/Interview/Neither Bloody or Bowed 07:49
  12. Observation/Solace 04:48
  13. Salomé's Dancing Lesson 05:30
  14. Rhyme of an Involuntary Violet 03:20
  15. The Whistling Girl 03:28

The acclaimed Irish duo of singer/actress Honor Heffernan and composer/keyboard player Trevor Knight (Auto Da Fe), present their new CD “The Whistling Girl”. The original and unique music composed by Trevor transforms the poems of Dorothy Parker into songs, using her witty, droll and sometimes heart rending lyrics with a lineup of highly renowned Irish musicians including Garvan Gallagher bass, Tom Jamieson drums, Ed Deane electric guitar , Bill Blackmore, Ray Martin trumpet and flugel horn, and Ciaran Wilde clarinet and saxes .

Each of the songs create individual tableaux or dream moments from Parker’s psyche, conjuring up images from her tempestuous life of outrageous celebrity, as founding member of the notorious Algonquin set in New York, and as civil rights activist in America and Spain during the Spanish Civil War.

The record was produced and engineered by Trevor Knight with initial engineering by Al Cowan at Sonic Studios Dublin and mastered by Daire Winston at Beechpark Studios, Co Dublin.
They are currently touring the show and have recently performed sell-out shows at The Irish Arts Centre in New York.

“I shall stay the way I am, because I do not give a damn!”
(Dorothy Parker)

"Honor Heffernan and Trevor Knight: The Whistling Girl – bringing Dorothy Parker’s dark wit to life" ****

The Irish Times - Cormac Larkin

It’s not like Honor Heffernan has anything to prove. For the last three decades, she’s been Ireland’s pre-eminent jazz singer, a riveting performer who matches emotional authenticity with musical craft.Her previous solo recordings – such as 2005’s excellent Fire and Ice – have been song collections, snapshots of a talented singer slowly maturing, but here is something altogether more ambitious. A set of original songs, based on the words of poet and society wit Dorothy Parker, The Whistling Girl is the love child of the singer’s new relationship, onstage and off, with Trevor Knight.The ex-Auto Da Fé keyboardist’s settings of Parker’s ruminations on life and death, love and sexual politics, performed by a talented group of musicians, combine the arch strut of Weimar cabaret and the sass of Rocky Horror with 80s synth-pop and contemporary art-rock.

The results are pure theatre – New York critics raved when the live show debuted there last month – but even on record, Parker’s dark wit, Knight’s memorable tunes, and Heffernan’s unerring ability to make words come to life are a winning combination, making The Whistling Girl as fresh and original a collection of songs as you’ll hear this year.
Friday Dec 15th 2017 The Irish Times

Album Details
Bitrate 1411kbps
File Type WAV
Release Date October 1, 2017
Total Length 107:25

The Whistling Girl

  • Product Code:
  • Availability: In Stock
  • available as digital download
  • 10.00€